Mission, History, Initiatives

Mission

Choctawhatchee Basin Alliance is a non-profit organization responsible for sustaining healthy local waterways through monitoring, education, restoration, and research.

For 20 years, CBA has promoted water stewardship within the Choctawhatchee watershed, growing the network of supporters who join in CBA’s mission to provide a future for these precious, natural resources.

History

In early 1996, representatives from the Florida Department of Environmental Protection (FDEP); other state, federal and local government agencies; environmental organizations; and members of the business community met with concerned citizens and elected officials at Northwest Florida State College to discuss environmental quality and economic development. The sharing of concerns from participants along with the discussion on philosophies of ecosystem management from the FDEP and Eglin AFB sparked a partnership for sustainable development that is now called the Choctawhatchee Basin Alliance of Northwest Florida State College (CBA).

Vision

The health of our water resources is the foundation for our identity and our economic security. Be it fishing, tourism, or our quality of life, everything depends upon a healthy watershed. As environmental and anthropogenic threats continue to impact these critical natural areas, local citizens need to become active stewards of these precious resources to ensure that future generations can enjoy them. Community support aids CBA in acquiring funding that will make a positive change in our environment for the long term.

CBA utilizes public awareness, public involvement, and collaboration to:

  • Promote optimum utilization of the basin resources through citizen empowerment.
  • Engage citizens to practice environmentally sound land management.
  • Involve government agencies to act and reflect public needs, desires and values.
  • Utilize public support and citizen involvement to initiate technical projects and coordinate efforts between citizens, business owners, environmental organizations, and government agencies to solve specific problems.

Advisory Committee 

Click here for Advisory Committee member biographies.

Name                         Position Email
Dennis Peters Chair dpeters@gsrcorp.com
Monica Autrey Treasurer/Secretary mautrey@dwuinc.com
Tim Norris Advisory Member timnorris@earthlink.net
Julie Terrell Advisory Member terrellj@nwfsc.edu
Joe Nacchia Advisory Member joe@emeraldcoastpubs.com
Dawn Pack Advisory Member packd@mail.okaloosa.k12.fl.us
Mitch Shank Advisory Member cshankcm@aol.com
Mark Shaeffer Advisory Member mshaeffer@baskervilledonovan.com
James Ward Advisory Member jward3184@aol.com
Dr. David Schjott Advisory Member schjottd@nwfsc.edu
Chester Kroeger Advisory Member chester@fudpucker.com
Ross Hamilton Ex-Officio Member hamiltor@nwfsc.edu
Mike Flynt Ex-Officio Member mflynt6905@aol.com

Staff

Click here for staff biographies.

Name Position Email
Alison McDowell Director mcdowel2@nwfsc.edu
Brittany Tate Senior Grant Manager & Education Coordinator tateb@nwfsc.edu
Brandy Foley Monitoring Coordinator foleyb@nwfsc.edu
Rachel Gwin Restoration Coordinator gwinr@nwfsc.edu
Erika Zambello Communications and Marketing Coordinator zambelle@nwfsc.edu
Riley Timbs Ecology Technician timbsr@nwfsc.edu
Amanda Briant Education Technician brianta@nwfsc.edu
Alison Jean Education Technician jeana1@nwfsc.edu

Newsletters

November 2017

October 2017

September 2017

Click here for additional newsletters.

Advertisements